- Open a conversation with messages you'd like to delete. You do need to act fast, though - removal is only permitted within ten minutes of sending the message.
Facebook Messenger also continues to provide the option to "Remove for You" at any time, but everybody else in the chat will still be able to see the message - it will just no longer appear in your personal chat log.
Here's how to delete messages on Facebook Messenger.
Once that info came out, everyone who uses Messenger wanted in on the functionality too-and now Facebook is delivering.
San Francisco: Mark Zuckerberg has said he sees Facebook as a largely "positive" force for society as the embattled social network marked its 15th anniversary.
For up to 10 minutes after a message is sent, users will soon have the option to delete that message from the conversation.
Facebook has added a new feature to its messaging platform that allows users to unsend messages.
Last April, TechCrunch revealed that Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg had used his executive power to remove his own messages sent in the Messenger app, an option that regular users don't normally have at their disposal. If you select the former, the text will be replaced with content that says it was replaced by you. That new feature as now arrived in Facebook Messenger for iOS and Android. Once "removed", the message will not reappear in the draft space.
Rumours about this life-saving ability have been circulating for months, but it's finally available in an update released today. Once complete, everyone in your chat will be notified the message has been deleted.
"After Sony Pictures' emails were hacked in 2014 we made a number of changes to protect our executives' communications", a Facebook representative told TechCrunch around the time of the hack.