Messi fails to make cut for FIFA Player of the Year

Adjust Comment Print

Zidane's last game in charge of Real was beating Liverpool in the Champions League at the end of last season.

"They're a counterattacking team that do a lot of pressing and are very quick to get the ball up to their three forwards when they win possession", Zidane said.

On Ronaldo's departure, Lopetegui added: "I did not speak to him, it was a situation where he had already chose to leave and the club went along with this for a player who had been tremendous".

Interestingly Modric will again face competition from the duo of Ronaldo and Salah just like he did in the UEFA award.

Julen Lopetegui warned not to doubt Real Madrid's players after Lionel Messi claimed Juventus are one of the clear favourites to win the Champions League following Cristiano Ronaldo's move to Turin.

His competitors, Ronaldo and Modric, won the Champions league together with Real Madrid.

Lionel Messi - who has dominated the award along with Ronaldo over the past decade - was omitted from the shortlist after featuring in the top three for 11 straight years.

"It's time to win the Champions League", Messi said.

Messi won La Liga with Barcelona; Ronaldo and Modric won the UEFA Champions League for a third consecutive time.

Many feel that Modric was a deserving victor but the decision hasn't gone down well with Ronaldo's entourage.

Mohamed Salah had an unbelievable season with Liverpool past year where he scored a staggering 44 goals and assisted 16 more.

This year's shortlist sees Croatian midfielder Modric and Liverpool's Salah nominated for the Best Fifa Men's Player award for the first time.

Salah also represented his country at the World Cup, scoring twice as the Pharaohs were eliminated after the group stage in Russian Federation. Norway's Ada Hegerberg (Olympique Lyonnais) and Germany's Dzsenifer Maroszan (Olympique Lyonnais) were announced as the other two finalists for the pinnacle award.

The FIFA world best finalist have been announced today with the victor to be announced later in September 24th in London.